Cruel Summer: Season 1

Cruel Summer: Season 1

Cruel Summer: Season 1

Taking place over three summers — '93, '94 and '95 — this unconventional thriller series centres on the abduction of Kate, a beloved high-schooler in a small Texas town, and the nation's growing hatred towards Jeanette, a teen who suddenly went from awkward outlier to the town's most popular girl.

2021USAAmazon Studios

Streaming (1 Provider)

5 August 2021

Happy Birthday, Jeanette Turner

Taking place over 3 summers in the 90s when a popular teen goes missing, and a seemingly unrelated girl transforms from a sweet and awkward outlier to the most popular girl in town, eventually becoming... MORE the most despised person in America.

5 August 2021

A Smashing Good Time

It’s time for the annual Skylin Garden Club Party! Year after year after year, the residents of Skylin struggle with the truth around what happened to Kate, keeping their secrets buried and maintaining appearances.

5 August 2021

Off With a Bang

Victim or villain? Jeanette continues to add fuel to the fire as her reckless behavior causes her friends and family to question her even more.

5 August 2021

You Don't Hunt, You Don't Eat

Kate, reeling from the lawsuit, prepares her defense and finds friendship in an unlikely source. The annual Wallis hunting trip becomes the setting for an important first meeting.

5 August 2021

As the Carny Gods Intended

Jeannette and Kate cross paths at the Skylin High takeover of the County Fair, where one is desperate to prove herself and the other to lose herself.

5 August 2021

An Ocean Inside Me

A new deposition threatens Jeanette’s case. A discovery causes Cindy’s suspicions about her own daughter to reach new heights as her relationship with Greg becomes further strained.

5 August 2021

Happy Birthday, Kate Wallis

Kate struggles with a family secret she’s been holding on to. Joy tries to convince Kate to go on “The Marsha Bailey Show.” Mallory has a birthday surprise.

5 August 2021


On the first day of school, everyone learns that the drama of the summer is anything but over and that some people will pay more for the consequences of Jeanette and Kate's deception than others.

5 August 2021

A Secret of My Own

Kate's closely held secrets and fragmented memories of her time in Martin's captivity are brought to the surface.

5 August 2021

Hostile Witness

Kate and Jeanette's worlds collide as the court date arrives, finally forcing the two young women to answer the question on everyone's mind, but the answer comes with a price that not everyone can pay.