Jane Campion and The Power of the Dog win big at BAFTAs

The Power of the Dog gallops on towards the Oscars with the top two awards at the BAFTAs.

Following the welcome demise of the Golden Globes, the British Academy Film Awards—better known as BAFTAs—have confirmed their status as the second biggest awards ceremony after the Oscars. For Jane Campion and The Power of the Dog, the BAFTAs have signalled yet another step on the journey towards the Academy Awards (Sam Elliott could not be reached for comment).

With a perhaps surprising lack of acting or writing wins, it wasn’t quite the sweep some had predicted, but in taking home the two top awards—best film and best director—The Power of the Dog adds to Campion’s trophy collection and also invites further speculation about who will win Oscars on March 27 (US time).

Not to be outdone—in fact, well outdoing The Power of the Dog numerically—Denis Villeneuve’s superb sci-fi epic Dune won five awards in technical categories including production design, sound and cinematography.

Plus, Rebel Wilson did… this:

Read on for the full list of winners:

Best film

Winner: The Power of the Dog
Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza

Best actress

Winner: Joanna Scanlan (After Love)
Lady Gaga (House of Gucci)
Alana Haim (Licorice Pizza)
Emilia Jones (Coda)
Renate Reinsve (The Worst Person in the World)
Tessa Thompson (Passing)

Best director

Winner: Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)
Aleem Khan (After Love)
Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)
Audrey Diwan (Happening)
Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)
Julia Ducournau (Titane)

Best actor

Winner: Will Smith (King Richard)
Adeel Akhtar (Ali & Ava)
Mahershala Ali (Swan Song)
Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)
Leonardo DiCaprio (Don’t Look Up)
Stephen Graham (Boiling Point)

Best animated film

Winner: Encanto
The Mitchells Vs the Machines

Best production design

Winner: Dune
The French Dispatch
Nightmare Alley
West Side Story

Best documentary

Winner: Summer of Soul
Becoming Cousteau
The Rescue

Best original screenplay

Winner: Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)
Aaron Sorkin (Being the Ricardos)
Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)
Adam McKay (Don’t Look Up)
Zach Baylin (King Richard)

Best adapted screenplay

Winner: Siân Heder (Coda)
Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)
Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve (Dune)
Maggie Gyllenhaal (The Lost Daughter)
Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

Outstanding British film

Winner: Belfast
After Love
Ali & Ava
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
House of Gucci
Last Night in Soho
No Time to Die

Best supporting actor

Winner: Troy Kotsur (Coda)
Mike Faist (West Side Story)
Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)
Woody Norman (C’mon C’mon)
Jesse Plemons (The Power of the Dog)
Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Best film not in the English language

Winner: Drive My Car
The Hand of God
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
The Worst Person in the World

Best costume design

Winner: Cruella
The French Dispatch
Nightmare Alley

Best supporting actress

Winner: Ariana DeBose (West Side Story)
Caitríona Balfe (Belfast)
Jessie Buckley (The Lost Daughter)
Ann Dowd (Mass)
Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)
Ruth Negga (Passing)

Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

Winner: Lashana Lynch
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

Winner: The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (writer/director) [also written by Boaz Yakin]
After Love – Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Best casting

Winner: West Side Story
Boiling Point
The Hand of God
King Richard

Best make up & and hair

Winner: The Eyes of Tammy Faye
House of Gucci

Best original score

Winner: Dune
Being the Ricardos
Don’t Look Up
The French Dispatch
The Power of the Dog

Best sound

Winner: Dune
Last Night in Soho
No Time to Die
A Quiet Place Part II
West Side Story

Best editing

Winner: No Time to Die
Licorice Pizza
Summer of Soul

Best short film

Winner: The Black Cop
The Palace
Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee

Best short animation

Winner: Do Not Feed the Pigeons
Affairs of the Art
Night of the Living Dread

Best cinematography

Winner: Dune
Nightmare Alley
No Time to Die
The Power of the Dog
The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best special visual effects

Winner: Dune
Free Guy
Ghostbusters: Afterlife
The Matrix Resurrections
No Time to Die