The full list of 2021 Oscars winners

This year’s Academy Awards ceremony was unusual due to the pandemic, but also a highly notable year for diversity.

There was glitz, glamour and a mother load of celebrities—all hallmarks of the Oscars. There were also a number of people beaming into the ceremony remotely, because this pesky damn pandemic is going on for even longer than your average overblown acceptance speech.

Taking place six years since the #OscarsSoWhite campaign arrived, the results of this year’s Oscars demonstrate that progress has been made on the diversity front.

One of the most significant wins was Chloé Zhao’s for Nomadland, Zhao becoming only the second woman to win a Best Director trophy in the event’s 93 year history. The film also won Best Picture and Best Actress.

This year there were a number of other firsts. Yuh-Jung Youn for instance became the first Korean performer to win one of the four acting categories (Best Supporting Actress, for Minari) and Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson were both the first black women to receive a nomination for Best Makeup and Hairstyling and the first to win.

Here’s the full list of winners and nominees.

Best Picture

Winner: Nomadland
The Father
Judas and the Black Messiah
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

Winner: Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
Thomas Vinterberg, Another Round
David Fincher, “Mank
Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman

Actress in a Leading Role

Winner: Frances McDormand, Nomadland
Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Andra Day, The United States vs. Billie Holiday
Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman
Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Actor in a Leading Role

Winner: Anthony Hopkins, The Father
Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Gary Oldman, Mank
Steven Yeun, Minari

Actress in a Supporting Role

Winner: uh-jung Youn, Minari
Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Glenn Close, Hillbilly Elegy
Olivia Colman, The Father
Amanda Seyfried, Mank

Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah
Sacha Baron Cohen, The Trial of the Chicago 7
Leslie Odom Jr., One Night in Miami
Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
LaKeith Stanfield, Judas and the Black Messiah

Original Song

Winner: Fight For You from Judas and the Black Messiah
Hear My Voice from The Trial of the Chicago 7
Husavik from Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga
lo Sì (Seen) from The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti a Se)
Speak Now from One Night in Miami

Animated Feature Film

Winner: Soul
Over the Moon
A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Makeup and Hairstyling

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Hillbilly Elegy

Visual Effects

Winner: Tenet
Love and Monsters
The Midnight Sky
The One and Only Ivan


Winner: Mank
Judas and the Black Messiah
News of the World
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Film Editing

Winner: Sound of Metal
The Father
Promising Young Woman
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Production Design

Winner: Mank
The Father
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
News of the World


Winner: Sound of Metal
News of the World

International Feature Film

Winner: Denmark, Another Round
Hong Kong, Better Days
Romania, Collective
Tunisia, The Man Who Sold His Skin
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Quo Vadis, Aida?

Documentary Short Subject

Winner: Colette
A Concerto Is a Conversation
Do Not Split
Hunger Ward
A Love Song for Latasha

Documentary Feature

Winner: My Octopus Teacher
Crip Camp
The Mole Agent

Live Action Short Film

Winner: Two Distant Strangers
Feeling Through
The Letter Room
The Present
White Eye

Animated Short Film

Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You
Genius Loci

Original Screenplay

Winner: Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
Screenplay by Will Berson and Shaka King; story by Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas and Keith Lucas, Judas and the Black Messiah
Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
Screenplay by Darius Marder and Abraham Marder; story by Darius Marder and Derek Cianfrance, Sound of Metal
Aaron Sorkin, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller, The Father
Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman and Lee Kern; story by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer and Nina Pedrad, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Chloé Zhao, Nomadland
Kemp Powers, One Night in Miami
Ramin Bahrani, The White Tiger

Original Score

Winner: Soul
Da 5 Bloods
News of the World

Costume Design

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom