Bike-lovers get the movie night of their dreams with The Big Bike Film Night


UPDATE: We first reported on the 2020 Big Bike Film Night in January before the global pandemic took hold. Now it returns with new dates and locations listed below.

Cycling enthusiasts get the movie night of their dreams with The Big Bike Film Night, a short film showcase dedicated to pedal-powered adventure.

What started as a passion project has become an increasingly popular nationwide tour that now screens across Aotearoa. In its sixth edition, the 2020 line-up promises even more cinematic stories about bike-lovers from all across the globe.

From the official synopsis: “This year’s treasure chest of films includes a story that reminds you of the importance of finding your ‘why’, and that with a bike you can find a worthy adventure in your own backyard…

“A movie that shows inspiration can come in all shapes and sizes – sometimes that shape and size is a seven-year-old girl who likes to ride BMX; an audacious mountain climbing challenge; a tale of trees, traps and trails, two friends on an environmental mission; a beautiful story about the power of two wheels and a community built through bicycling; and a part documentary/ part fantasy with mountain bike illustrations that will have you looking for your rig and heading down the trail in search of the same kind of magic; ALL in the mix!”

See times and locations below. Visit the official website for ticket booking information.


Auckland

Academy Cinemas — Sunday 28th June, 6:00pm
The Vic, Devonport — Monday 29th June, 7:45pm
Waiheke Island Cinema — Tuesday 30th June, 7:30pm
Academy Cinemas — Thursday 2nd July, 8:00pm
Academy Cinemas — Friday 3rd July, 6:00pm

Whangarei

Captain Bougainville Theatre — Tuesday 30th June, 7:00pm

Kerikeri

Cathay Cinemas — Wednesday 1st July, 7:30pm

Taupō

Starlight Cinema — Wednesday 15th July, 7:00pm

Pukekohe

Cinema 3 — Wednesday 22nd July, 6:00pm

Hamilton (encore)

The Lido — Thursday 23rd July, 8:00pm

Wellington (encore)

Penthouse Cinema — Tuesday 28th July, 6:00pm

Richmond

The Headingly Centre — Wednesday 29th July, 7:30pm

Blenheim

Malborough Convention Centre — Thursday 30th July, 6:30pm

Nelson

Suter Theatre — Friday 31st July, 6:00pm
Suter Theatre — Friday 31st July, 8:30pm

Gore

SBS St James Theatre — Monday 3rd August, 6:00pm

Queenstown

Crowne Plaza Hotel — Tuesday 4th August, 7:00pm

Alexandra

Central Cinema — Wednesday 5th August, 7:30pm
Central Cinema — Friday 14th August, 7:30pm

Wanaka

Wanaka Community Hub — Thursday 6th August, 7:00pm

Dunedin

Rialto Cinema — Wednesday 12th August,
7:30pm

Invercargill

SIT Centrestage — Thursday 13th August, 7:00pm

Westport

NBS Theatre — Friday 21st August, 7:30pm

Hokitika

Regent Theatre — Friday 25th September, 7:00pm

Oamaru

Inkpot, Oamaru Opera House — Monday 12th October, 7:00pm

Timaru

Craighead Auditorium, Craighead Diocesan School — Tuesday 13th October, 7:00pm

Ashburton

Regent Cinema — Wednesday 14th October, 7:00pm

Christchurch

Charles Luney Auditorium — Friday 16th October, 7:30pm

Takaka

Village Theatre — Saturday 24th October, 7:30pm