Bike-lovers get the movie night of their dreams with The Big Bike Film Night


Cycling enthusiasts get the movie night of their dreams with The Big Bike Film Night, a short film showcase dedicated to pedal-powered adventure.

What started as a passion project has become an increasingly popular nationwide tour that now screens in 36 locations across Aotearoa. In its sixth edition, the 2020 line-up promises even more cinematic stories about bike-lovers from all across the globe.

From the official synopsis: “This year’s treasure chest of films includes a story that reminds you of the importance of finding your ‘why’, and that with a bike you can find a worthy adventure in your own backyard…

“A movie that shows inspiration can come in all shapes and sizes – sometimes that shape and size is a seven-year-old girl who likes to ride BMX; an audacious mountain climbing challenge; a tale of trees, traps and trails, two friends on an environmental mission; a beautiful story about the power of two wheels and a community built through bicycling; and a part documentary/ part fantasy with mountain bike illustrations that will have you looking for your rig and heading down the trail in search of the same kind of magic; ALL in the mix!”

See times and locations below. Visit the official website for ticket booking information.


Wellington

Penthouse Cinema — 6:00pm Sunday, 23 Feb
Penthouse Cinema — 6:00pm Monday, 24 Feb
Lighthouse Petone — 6:00pm Tuesday, 25 Feb

Napier

MTG Century Theatre — 7:00pm Thursday, 27 Feb

Whakatane

WhakaMax — 6:30pm Monday, 9 March

Hamilton

The Lido — 6:00pm Thursday, 12 March

Pukekohe

Cinema 3 — 6:00pm Monday, 30 March

Kerikeri

Cathay Cinemas — 7:30pm Tuesday, 31 March

Auckland

Academy Cinemas — 8:00pm Saturday, 4 April
Academy Cinemas — 6:00pm Sunday, 5 April
The Vic, Devonport  — 8:00pm Monday, 6 April
Academy Cinemas — 6:00pm Tuesday, 7 April
Waiheke Island Cinema — 7:30pm Tuesday, 7 April

Whangarei

Captain Bougainville Theatre — 7:00pm Wednesday, 15 April

Taupō

Starlight Cinema — 6:00pm Thursday, 23 April

Nelson

Suter Theatre — 6:00pm & 8:30pm Friday, 1 May

Takaka

Village Theatre — 7:30pm Sunday, 3 May

Gore

SBS St James Theatre — 6:00pm Tuesday, 5 May

Westport

NBS Theatre — 7:30pm Wednesday, 6 May

Hokitika

Regent Theatre — 7:00pm Thursday, 7 May

Dunedin

Rialto Cinema — 7:30pm Monday, 11 May

Invercargill

SIT Centrestage — 7:00pm Tuesday, 12 May

Alexandra

Central Cinema — 7:30pm Friday, 15 May
Central Cinema — 7:30pm Wednesday, 20 May

Ashburton

Regent Cinema — 7:30pm Wednesday, 20 May

Christchurch

Charles Luney Auditorium — 7:30pm Friday, 22 May